Everything You Should Know About Six Sigma Yellow Belt Certification

The Yellow Belt is the entry-level certification of the Six Sigma DMAIC project management methodology. To achieve the Six Sigma Yellow Belt certification, a person must pass a written exam and have a minimum of one year of experience in a Six Sigma project.

What Does the Yellow Belt Training Entail?

The Yellow Belt training includes 16 hours of classroom instruction that prepares the candidate to pass the certification exam. The test course covers concepts such as tools, DMAIC (define, measure, analyze, improve, and control), Lean concepts, and risk management. 

The course also discusses an organization’s need for Six Sigma and its benefit to the company. During the Yellow Belt training course, a mock exam will allow students to measure their areas of strength and weakness. Students should use this information to determine which topics need more attention.

Those who plan to take Lean Six Sigma Certification by UMass in the future can use this mock exam as a practice run for the certification test. They should also use the Yellow Belt online training to review all of the concepts taught in class.

Steps to Obtain Six Sigma Yellow Belt Certificate

1. Register at the Portal

To register for the certification, you need to have an active project or management position in your company. You can go to the training provider’s website and register for a test session.

2. Study for the Exam

There aren’t any formal prerequisites, but it helps if you have extensive knowledge of Six Sigma concepts through education or experience in the business environment. 

In addition to studying for this exam, you will undoubtedly need to do some work to prepare for the exam. It would be wise to study for this test before taking it.

3. Take the Test

The test is a 100 question, multiple-choice/short answer format and will take between 60 and 90 minutes to complete. You can expect about 10–15% of your study efforts to go into preparing for the test, so know what to expect and then pace yourself.

4. Wait for Your Result

Once you finish your test, you will need to wait a couple of weeks so that your exam can be graded. Once graded, you will receive an email from the institute containing instructions on registering for your certification attempt if you pass or retake the test if you don’t.

5. Apply for the Certification

If you pass the test, fill out your information on the institute’s website and print off your certification card. When you apply for a job requiring a Yellow Belt or become a Green Belt, you need this card.

What Do You Need for Yellow Belt Certification?

To take the certification test, you will need a local number and PIN that the training provider will provide. This code is used to register for an exam date and time, along with your personal information.

There are three requirements to become a Six Sigma Yellow Belt. These are as follows:

1) Earn the Six Sigma Green Belt Certification

First, the Six Sigma Green Belt certification must continue to Yellow Belt training and testing. This certification requires you to understand what Six Sigma is, how it works, and how it can apply to your job to earn this certification. 

The Green Belt demonstrates a fundamental knowledge of the Six Sigma DMAIC methodology for improving processes.

2) Get at Least One Year of Experience 

Second, a minimum of one year of experience is required to attempt the Yellow Belt certification exam. You must have led at least one successful Six Sigma project using the DMAIC problem-solving process in this one year.

3) Pass a Written Exam

Third, you must pass a Yellow Belt written exam that tests your understanding of Six Sigma tools and how to employ them in solving problems.

Some key points about the exam are as follows:

  • The exact contents of the test are considered intellectual property. However, some general categories are also outlined.
  • There is no prescribed time limit for taking this exam, but most students complete the test in about two hours. You must score 70% or higher to pass it.

Wrapping Up

This Yellow Belt certification is the entry-level exam and builds on your previous knowledge and experience with Six Sigma. It’s not a standalone test; you should’ve already gained most of this information through training before attempting the exam. Also, note that this certification does not mean that you are skilled enough to be an effective process improvement consultant. Instead, it formally recognizes that you have the fundamental knowledge needed to succeed.